Memory Maps

January 11, 2010 at 7:29 pm 1 comment

Before I even get started let me just say this is the last post made up of crappy camera-phone photos! You can all thank Momma-Dubbs for a new camera for Christmas. But endure this last post of grainy, highly photoshopped pics.

This is a Lauren-project that were Christmas gifts for 2 very close friends because I wanted to document & remember some of the good times we’ve spent traveling together. I looked high & low for travel memento ideas but came up short. If I would have planned in advance I love these from Martha Stewart but now that it’s in the past all I really have a photos.

Photos! Duh.

I grabbed a framed corkboard & push-pins just like any travel map but decided to add as many personalized details as possible… starting with photos. This is so easy but makes an big impact. I measured the head of my push-pins, sized tiny photos of us to fit, cut them out & glued them.

These photos weren’t even from our trips, but look how cute they are! (if you squint maybe you can get the general idea. haha sorry!) I used super glue for reasons we won’t get into right now, but it worked just fine & will obviously be secure. If you have ideas for a better adhesive please share your comments.

I custom printed the maps because I happen to work with teenager who run a poster press & have really great prices, so I was able to customize that as much as I wanted too. I tried to make the map colors look antique-ish, added a family scroll, and some old-school explorer type images I found online.

I also tried to connect the 2 separate gifts together since the 3 of us are really a package deal. So when I covered the frames & added a block of cardboard to hold extra pins, I alternated the fabrics. So Fleegal has some fabric from Sam’s frame & vice versa. Also, I only mapped out OUR travels. They’ve been plenty of other places & I’m sure they’ll have fun updating all their separate memories, but for presentation purposes this was a map of us.

This is my map, but make your travel map your own unqiue creation! If you’re a big roadtripper, try using yarn to mark your route. Maybe cover the frame in flyers & brochures you acquired. Happy Trails!

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

– Mark Twain

Entry filed under: Gifts, Travel, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Baby Shower Gift Snowflake Cards

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Brandi  |  January 27, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    I LOVE THIS IDEA! SO CUTE!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Craft By Date

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Categories

Recent Comments

erinmarshall71 on Peacock Costume
Charlene on Peacock Costume
Brandi on Memory Maps
Samantha on Snowflake Cards
Amy on Snowflake Cards

